Ferns n’ Christmas

Ferns again, I know, *yawn*. I’m enjoying them though, it’s a nice wee group of plants that I can keep an eye out for, and I’m really looking forward to spring when the deciduous ferns are to be found amongst the Broad Buckler-ferns and Bracken. But it’s going to be a while until then so I have to make do with stumbling across ferns that I wasn’t looking for. Such as this lovely Hard Shield Fern Polystichum aculeatum that I happened to notice in my torchlight as I wandered through Arniston Estate at 17:00 hoping for Badgers.

P1150967
Hard Shield Fern – Polystichum aculeatum

No luck on the Badger front but was a nice walk with a bonus fern. Suspect Arniston Estate has more to offer in terms of ferns. Also out towards my dads are the Moorfoot Hills which I’d like to have a wee look at in terms of flora. I suspect there will be some nice ones about that you wouldn’t find at lower altitudes.

Another fern that I may or may not have happened upon (awaiting confirmation at the moment) is Intermediate Polypody Polypodium interjectum in Holyrood Park. It’s clearly marked in the area on the BSBI Hectad Map (brilliant resource:  https://www.brc.ac.uk/plantatlas/index.php?q=title_page) so I think it might be, also based on comparing my pics with other pics.

 

Anyway, in other news, Christmas Eve tomorrow, and obviously Christmas the next day. Therefore I’d like to wish all readers a Merry Christmas! I’ll probably be spending my entire day wishing I could go out and use my presents to identify anything and everything in sight (I’m pretty certain I’m getting a few field guides, unless dad is playing some sick prank on me and has bought me a bunch of fiction books). But it’s always nice to be around family and even nicer seeing their faces as they receive the presents I’ve bought them and laugh at my terrible wrapping… Every year…

And looking further into the future… i.e. next year, I’m aiming to greatly increase my field skills, through self learning and possibly through courses that will certainly make the process a lot quicker. I also need to get a job… and at the same time I’m looking forward to more voluntary work all over the place, forever expanding my knowledge! And of course, the brilliant course that I’m doing at SRUC Aberdeen, which is everything I hoped it’d be!

Merry Christmas!

finalthrush

Ferns n’ Christmas

Leave a Reply

